Changeling by Matt Wesolowski

Another outstanding installment in the Six Stories series – deliciously dark with a mega twist!

Changeling by Matt Wesolowski
271 Pages
Out Now

A missing child
A family in denial
Six witnesses
Six stories
Which one is true?

On Christmas Eve in 1988, seven-year-old Alfie Marsden vanished in the dark Wentshire Forest Pass, when his father, Sorrel, stopped the car to investigate a mysterious knocking sound. No trace of the child, nor his remains, have ever been found. Alfie Marsden was declared officially dead in 1995.

Elusive online journalist, Scott King, whose ‘Six Stories’ podcasts have become an internet sensation, investigates the disappearance, interviewing six witnesses, including Sorrel and his ex-partner, to try to find out what really happened that fateful night. Journeying through the trees of the Wentshire Forest a place synonymous with strange sightings, and tales of hidden folk who dwell there, he talks to a company that tried and failed to build a development in the forest, and a psychic who claims to know what happened to the little boy.


Rating: 5 out of 5.

The third book in the Six Stories series and Matt Wesolowski does it again – absolutely brilliant, I just can’t get enough of this series!

Once again we join podcast host Scott King as he investigates another cold case, this time the vanishing of Alfie Marsden. As always I enjoy the whole podcast element to these stories. They really are so authentic and genuinely feel like they could be a real podcast. Each of the interviews he conducts reveal more questions rather than answers and I love trying to figure it out myself.

As mentioned, this is the third book in the series and whilst I would say it could be read as a standalone I personally think this series needs to be read from the beginning to truly connect with Scott King and go on this journey with him.

There is a lot of mysterious elements to this story with the inclusion of the strange things that happen in the forest. They were really well done and I definitely found this book to be the creepiest so far. It also explored the subjects of abuse which were handled really well and shone a light on not just physical abuse but manipulating behaviour and emotional abuse.

Overall this has been my favourite book from this series so far, it was absolutely brilliant with fantastic characters and a story with many layers……oh and one of the best twists ever! This series doesn’t disappoint and I’m very excited to read the rest!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s